Lessons of All Kinds

So, yes, I did indeed swell up to the size of a salad plate around the sting to the part in my hair. Sunday morning my left eyebrow was swollen but later that day I started getting puffy under my eye, too.  I looked like someone had sucker punched me–of course, I guess technically she sort of did. I was popping Benadryl and Ibuprofin, and keeping ice on my eye for as long as I could stand.  I even tried a green tea bag compress as I know the caffeine is supposed to help with puffiness, but come Monday morning it was all I could do to even open it as the swelling had moved to the inside corner of my eye and now the left half of my face was bearing an uncanny resemblance to a Shar-Pei.

Image

A friend suggested I try some essential oils.  I was a bit skeptical, but even though I suspected (hoped?) that this was the peak of the swelling, I was also feeling a teensy bit desperate and certainly didn’t want it to get worse!  Plus, my husband didn’t want to be seen with me in public for fear of being hauled away as a wife beater….  She dropped off some lavender, basil, and tea tree oils with instructions to use the lavender near my eye and the others to be rubbed into my feet.  Hmmmmm….okay.  But you know what?  I think they worked.  At least a little. By late Monday afternoon, I could keep my eye open without undue effort and the swelling had gone down significantly.  I think I might start keeping some of that basil oil on hand just, you know, in case….

In better news, my swelling was so diminished by today that I did not have to look like an idiot while telling my son’s kindergarten class that bees don’t really want to sting you (she totally did).  I made a little slideshow for them all about honeybees and brought in my gloves & veil for them to try on.  We talked about why bees are good and how they have six legs and four wings and five eyes (yep–5!). We looked at pictures of bees and I challenged them to find the queen.  They had great questions and sat attentively for a solid hour which has to be some sort of kindergarten record!  Their teacher was flabbergasted.  I had a ton of fun and left them a little jar of honey to taste and the book Are You a Bee? by Judy Allen. I have read a lot of kids books about bees and think this is the best one out there that has nice, factual information combined with colorful pictures and a fun story about what you would be doing if you were a bee.

ImageThe sweetest part?  While I was packing up, the teacher sent all the kids to different stations for their “choice time” and the ones that went to the art table?  They were all drawing pictures of bees!  So sweet.

Image“The bee is fling (flying) to the hive.” And that spotty thing is me in my veil next to our hive with its window.  Adorable!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons of All Kinds

  1. Kathleen says:

    These are the types of school experiences that kids/people keep as fun memories for the rest of their lives. Love that you give these talks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

